As a full-time editor with two kids at home, the gym has become a distant memory and without a “class and instructor feel,” I struggled with any at-home workout program I tried. While a Peloton Bike+ package was on my wishlist, anytime I tried to justify the purchase, I just could never bite the bullet, thanks to the $2,495 price tag. (Diapers! Food! 529 plans!). But then I heard about the Bowflex C6 indoor cycling bike, the first-ever indoor cycling bike that Nautilus debuted in October 2020, which promised to deliver a connected fitness experience—and even better—at less than half the price of a Peloton bike, I knew I had to try it.

What’s a Bowflex C6 bike?

Available on Bowflex.com for $799 with free standard shipping in the U.S., the Bowflex C6 bike offers an open platform, meaning riders can connect with Nautilus’ Explore the World app (available on Android, with iOS coming soon), or third-party cycling apps including Peloton and Zwift. It’s also compatible with the JRNY app for phones/tablets. When you purchase the Bowflex, it comes with a one-year JRNY membership ($149 value) included with your purchase. When I got the bike, which came with a free mat and an optional setup ($129 fee or you can assemble the bike yourself), I chose to download the Peloton app (available on iOS and Android) for a free 30-day trial period. After the free trial, the Peloton app is $13 a month (which is a savings, considering that Peloton owners purchase a subscription for $44 a month). The Peloton app comes complete with the on-demand library of classes, plus live classes. Unlike the Peloton, which comes with a 22-inch touchscreen tablet, the Boxflex doesn’t come with its own screen, so riders connect their iPhones or tablets to access the workouts (I used my iPad) with the bike’s tablet holder. You also can connect via Apple TV or Chromecast, if you want to use a TV instead for a bigger screen. (Peloton just released a new app for Apple Watch, making it easier to access fitness metrics on the go, and also an app for Fire TV). The other things I love about this bike? It’s a smooth, quiet ride (key when you don’t want to wake a sleeping baby!), it has a backlit LCD metric console, 100 resistance levels with magnetic resistance, dual-sided pedals, a pair of three-pound dumbbells with easy-reach cradles, a Bluetooth-enabled heart rate armband monitor, and a media/device holder.

Bowflex C6 versus Peloton bike: How do they compare?

For resistance levels, both bikes offer 100 levels, so there’s no difference there. As for extra costs, the Bowflex C6 comes with 3-pound dumbbells included (which is an extra $55 cost with the Peloton). You also can wear any shoes with the Bowflex bike, compared to the Peloton, which advises using their cycling shoes for $145. All in all, the first-year total cost of the Bowflex C6 is $1,005, while the first-year total cost of the Peloton is $2,738, meaning you can save over $1,680. You can see a more detailed comparison between the two bikes and the costs here.

What are some other benefits of the Bowflex C6 bike?

If you prefer not to pay for a subscription service, the bike can be used with goal-based program workouts, so if you cancel your app, you won’t lose console functionality.

What are some downsides?

While riders can sync to data sharing apps including Strava, UA Record, Apple Health, Google Fit, Sufferfest, Rouvy, FulGaz, TacX, Trainer Road, My Fitness Pal, and Zwift (which allows users to interact, train and compete against others), Peloton users won’t be able to see your scores in each class. So yes, you will be able to stream the cycling classes via the Peloton app, but you won’t have access to class metrics and leaderboard involvement. However, you can find your Peloton friends through his or her username, and do a ride with them in the same Peloton class.

Final verdict:

If you’re budget-conscious or the Peloton is too expensive at this time, I get it! And the Bowflex C6 could be a great alternative. For me, I was able to access all the Peloton workouts I wanted (give me all the 45-minute 90s rides, Ally Love!), and even enjoy a 10- or 20-minute ride if I didn’t have time that day for a longer ride. Considering that the commute to the gym would be a 10-15 minute drive, it’s a win-win for me. And although I don’t have access to the Peloton class leaderboard, which might be a downer for competitive cyclers out there, I’m more than happy to keep my beginner-cycler status to myself. I still felt completely immersed in the classes, thanks to the upbeat instructors and their perfectly-selected music, that I didn’t need my name highlighted on the leaderboard, #thankyouverymuch. Let’s just say that the C6 was the Peloton hack I needed to keep my fitness—and budget—goals in check! Looking for the perfect low-carb snack? We have 20 fat bomb recipes right here!

Bowflex C6 Bike vs Peloton Bike  Exercise Bikes Comparable to Peloton - 99Bowflex C6 Bike vs Peloton Bike  Exercise Bikes Comparable to Peloton - 33Bowflex C6 Bike vs Peloton Bike  Exercise Bikes Comparable to Peloton - 94