I love the ease of using a bodysuit to transition from work to casual wear. I can pair a bodysuit with a skirt and a blazer for work, and then swap the skirt for jeans and ditch the blazer so I’m ready for dinner out with friends. Getting ready in the morning, while getting both kids ready for school or camp can be a challenge, so wearing a bodysuit acts as a great neutral that elevates every outfit, I don’t have to fiddle with whether or not to tuck it in, and once it’s on, there no need to adjust it throughout the day. I have found the comfort of each bodysuit to vary based on what you are looking for it to do, while some bodysuits offer a lot of stretch, making them extremely comfortable, others specializing in smoothing out your body and helping give you a great shape. If you’re wondering what bodysuit is worth your money (and which ones aren’t!), or browsed them at the Nordstrom Anniversary sale, I did the work for you: here are the best bodysuits to try! For references, I’m 5'2’’, 140 lbs. and  I typically wear a size 6. Here are my best picks. Here at Parade.com, we’re all about sharing products we love with our audience. When you make a purchase on an item seen on this page, we may earn a commission, however, all picks are independently chosen unless otherwise mentioned. 

Best Bodysuits

Skims Fits Everybody High Neck Bodysuit, $58, Nordstrom

I first started with Skims—this is Kim Kardashian’s line that has had a lot of people talking. I was hoping to get a basic white sleeveless to put under blazers and cardigans. I was a little frustrated that there wasn’t a white in this high neck bodysuit, but there are a variety of nude shades to choose from. I choose the color marble and sized up, given the reviews. When I got the bodysuit I was really excited, the material felt so soft and the fit was perfect. However, after looking in the mirror I realized the bodysuit was completely see-through. This would be a great option in a darker color but the marble was simply too see-through for me. I kept mine because I will wear under dresses, and I do like the fit. Skims Fits Everybody High Neck Bodysuit, $58, Nordstrom

Spanx Suit Yourself Long Sleeve Thong Bodysuit, $78, Spanx

Next, I went to the tried and true Spanx, because who doesn’t want something that is going to hold everything in for you while giving you a great shape? Spanx does not have the variety of options I was expecting, and most of their bodysuits are only available in black, so I tried a black long sleeve bodysuit, once again sizing up. I loved this—it’s comfortable while still smoothing everything out. I am short so on me, the sleeves are a bit long but I still think this is a perfect closet staple for the fall. Spanx Suit Yourself Long Sleeve Thong Bodysuit, $78, Spanx

Naked Wardrobe Jersey Sleeveless Bodysuit, $40, Nordstrom

I love that Naked Wardrobe offers a large variety of colors in their bodysuits. These suits seem more casual than the other bodysuits I have tried. They have more of a stretch, so they are not as good about smoothing everything out but they do have a great fit and are affordable. For $40, I think it’s worth the buy! Naked Wardrobe Jersey Sleeveless Bodysuit, $40, Nordstrom

Vero Moda, Mazikeen Sleeveless Bodysuit, $24.97, Nordstrom Rack

During school shopping with my kids at Nordstrom Rack, I decided to see what they had in stock for bodysuits. I have found my local Nordstrom Rack to be quite the treasure trove, but you have to walk in knowing their stock is constantly changing. For instance, they may not have every item in a wide range of sizes, so it may not be the place to go if you are looking for something very specific. However, if you are just going to browse, you can find some incredible pieces. I decided to try on this Vero Moda bodysuit—and the fabric is perfect, it smooths everything out and offers a bit of sheen, making it perfect to dress up or dress down. Definitely a win for me.Vero Moda, Mazikeen Sleeveless Bodysuit, $24.97, Nordstrom Rack

LULUS Halter Neck Bodysuit, $44, Nordstrom

I was really excited to see flowy bodysuits. The idea of having a camisole that looks perfectly tucked in all day sounded too good to be true. I know that the success of a shirt like this will also depend on the rise of the pants you pair with it but I was willing to give it a shot. Unfortunately, I don’t think the fit works for my day job, but I think paired with yoga pants it’s cute! LULUS Halter Neck Bodysuit, $44, Nordstrom Up next, say goodbye to brassy hair and take a look at the 25 best purple shampoos that will take your locks from drab to fab.

Best Bodysuits for Women  Best Black Bodysuits  Nordstrom Bodysuits  Amazon Bodysuits and More - 91Best Bodysuits for Women  Best Black Bodysuits  Nordstrom Bodysuits  Amazon Bodysuits and More - 4Best Bodysuits for Women  Best Black Bodysuits  Nordstrom Bodysuits  Amazon Bodysuits and More - 52Best Bodysuits for Women  Best Black Bodysuits  Nordstrom Bodysuits  Amazon Bodysuits and More - 19Best Bodysuits for Women  Best Black Bodysuits  Nordstrom Bodysuits  Amazon Bodysuits and More - 93Best Bodysuits for Women  Best Black Bodysuits  Nordstrom Bodysuits  Amazon Bodysuits and More - 99